2.22.06
Polstar Lottery Group is a fraud
My sister-in-law received an "official-looking" letter in the mail tonight congradulating her for being the "Category 'C' winner of the Polstar Lottery Group's annual Unclaimed Funds Random Drawing"...sheesh, try saying that 5 times fast!
Yada, yada, yada...huge amount of money, click here, sign there, call soon. All reeks of a scam. But how can we be sure? Let's start with the basics.
1) Their website www.polstarlg.com
It's pathetic (even if the template was provided by Network Solutions) and devoid of information for a company claiming to hold the key to riches.
Also, since there is no number on the website to call, you have to use their contact form. The contact form that sends your info to http://wsm.ezsitedesigner.com/servlet/VisitorFeedback. Yeah, nice touch.
2) Domain registration information.
The domain was registered and expires:
Updated Date: 23-jan-2006
Creation Date: 23-jan-2006
Expiration Date: 23-jan-2007
Funny how this "annual" event never happened last year and looks to end in 2007. Oh, and the Whois lookup also reveals that a Christopher Smith that registered the domain lives in the good ole' US of A. Why is that relevant? Oh, because Polstar claims to be a Canadian company (1000 tesma way vaughan, ontario canada). One more thing, Whois searches and Google Maps are a wonderful combo. I spy with my little eye ;-)
3) You NEVER, EVER, EVER pay taxes on winnings in order to claim your price. Yup, that's the clincher. That's how all these scams work. The money you pay is the only money involved in these transactions. That's how they get rich.
This scam had all the tell-tale signs, like the "Confidential Disclosure Agreement". Its only purpose is to keep the potential victim from talking to anyone who can point out the fraud.
UPDATE - Looks like Polstar's web host has disabled their account. Don't know if this post helped lead to it, but fortunately no one else will be scammed through that means.
5 ramblings so far

12:05 am in